GoFuckYourself.com - Adult Webmaster Forum

GoFuckYourself.com - Adult Webmaster Forum (https://gfy.com/index.php)
-   Fucking Around & Business Discussion (https://gfy.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   CSS Wordpress Help Needed Please (https://gfy.com/showthread.php?t=1178985)

clickity click 11-18-2015 01:17 PM

CSS Wordpress Help Needed Please
 
Hi,

I am trying to get a second navigation menu working on my wordpress blog but I am having trouble styling it. I know nothing about CSS.

Basically I have this in my header.php

Code:

<?php wp_nav_menu( array( 'theme_location' => 'new-menu' ) ); ?>
The menu items are displaying but they are in a long list..

I want them to look similar to this:
https://i0.wp.com/themes.svn.wordpre...1142&strip=all

This is the current css for the top Nav I presume.

Code:

5.2 Menus
--------------------------------------------------------------*/
.main-navigation {
        display: block;
}

.main-navigation ul {
        list-style: none;
        margin: 0;
        padding-left: 0;
}

.main-navigation li {
        float: left;
        position: relative;
}

.main-navigation a {
        display: block;
        text-decoration: none;
}

.main-navigation ul ul {
        box-shadow: 0 3px 3px rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.2);
        float: left;
        position: absolute;
        left: -999em;
        z-index: 99999;
}

.main-navigation ul ul ul {
        left: -999em;
        top: 0;
}

.main-navigation ul ul a {
        width: 200px;
}

.main-navigation ul ul li {

}

.main-navigation li:hover > a {
}

.main-navigation ul ul :hover > a {
}

.main-navigation ul ul a:hover {
}

.main-navigation ul li:hover > ul {
        left: auto;
}

.main-navigation ul ul li:hover > ul {
        left: 100%;
}

.main-navigation .current_page_item > a,
.main-navigation .current-menu-item > a,
.main-navigation .current_page_ancestor > a {
}

I tried changing them from main-navigation to new-menu but it didn't do a fucking thing.

Thanks.

Rob 11-18-2015 01:22 PM

Why don't you just go into Appearances > Menus and edit the menus there? You can drag/drop them into sub menus, and even sub-sub-sub menus. :thumbsup

That seems to be the most simple way to skin this cat. No need to edit CSS or PHP.

Edit: Maybe I'm reading this wrong, can you upload a screen cap of the way it is now?

clickity click 11-18-2015 01:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob (Post 20639700)
Why don't you just go into Appearances > Menus and edit the menus there? You can drag/drop them into sub menus, and even sub-sub-sub menus. :thumbsup

That seems to be the most simple way to skin this cat. No need to edit CSS or PHP.

I need to second navigation menu. My theme only supports one so I have had to add a second using the above code plus editing functions.php but the css isn't formatted right..

clickity click 11-18-2015 02:54 PM

Bumping this shit up. I know 92% of you guys know how to do this.
I need a quick solution. Like tonight.

myleene 11-18-2015 06:50 PM

Hit me up and I'll do it for you. Could be delivered today with a payment by PayPal.

pinkz 11-19-2015 05:55 AM

.main-navigation a {
display: block;
text-decoration: none;

change the above to the below

.main-navigation a {
display: inline;
text-decoration: none;

should work, no paypal required!

clickity click 11-19-2015 06:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pinkz (Post 20640319)
.main-navigation a {
display: block;
text-decoration: none;

change the above to the below

.main-navigation a {
display: inline;
text-decoration: none;

should work, no paypal required!

Thanks, I didn't try it yet, will later.

Freedom6995 11-19-2015 09:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by clickity click (Post 20639698)
Hi,
I know nothing about CSS.

Time to expand your skill set. ;)

PornDiscounts-V 11-19-2015 10:01 AM

Time to pay somebody

clickity click 11-19-2015 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vvvvv (Post 20640526)
Time to pay somebody

Well not really, if the solution is as simple as changing block to inline as posted above.
Why pay for 6 characters?

clickity click 11-21-2015 02:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by clickity click (Post 20640341)
Thanks, I didn't try it yet, will later.

Tried it, fucked my site up. Nm

Freedom6995 11-21-2015 09:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by clickity click (Post 20642694)
Tried it, fucked my site up. Nm

Code was correct. You fucked it up.

CPA-Rush 11-21-2015 11:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by myleene (Post 20640016)
Hit me up and I'll do it for you. Could be delivered today with a payment by PayPal.

:1orglaugh

clickity click 11-22-2015 05:35 AM

Time to pay a coder lol.

kuskka 11-22-2015 09:07 AM

I can help you if you create a CodePen showing the issue: CodePen - Front End Developer Playground & Code Editor in the Browser

It's hard to know what's happening without seeing the code. Or you can contact me and I'll check your theme and see what's happening!

MakeMeGrrrrowl 11-22-2015 10:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vvvvv (Post 20640526)
Time to pay somebody

I suggest this guy right here!!!!!!!!!!! =)

clickity click 11-22-2015 04:04 PM

Offering $2 by PayPal

VladS 11-22-2015 05:02 PM

What do you mean by "they are in a long list"? Can you email me full info on this? Sounds like a quick fix, i'll help you out. Free of charge, you can buy yourself a beer on my behalf for those 2 bucks :1orglaugh

vlad /at/ faxite /dot/ com

L.E.: You mean the menu items should be one below the other versus one next to the other? If so, add float: left; to main-navigation a.

L.E. 2: Rereading, you do want it horizontal, you can try adding display: inline-block; float: left; width: auto; Best to email me your site URL if you don't want it public and i'll email you back the exact solution.

clickity click 11-22-2015 05:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VladS (Post 20643628)
What do you mean by "they are in a long list"? Can you email me full info on this? Sounds like a quick fix, i'll help you out. Free of charge, you can buy yourself a beer on my behalf for those 2 bucks :1orglaugh

vlad /at/ faxite /dot/ com

L.E.: You mean the menu items should be one below the other versus one next to the other? If so, add float: left; to main-navigation a.

L.E. 2: Rereading, you do want it horizontal, you can try adding display: inline-block; float: left; width: auto; Best to email me your site URL if you don't want it public and i'll email you back the exact solution.

Thanks for the offer. I will that when I get chance.
If I can't sort it I will be in touch.
Thanks, I can't buy myself a beer with the 2 bucks but I might be able to get a 1/2.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©2000-, AI Media Network Inc