![]() |
Coders For Some Advice On Code?
I need a bit of help. I installed osTicket and it appears to be running fine. The index or Landing page needs a bit of editing. It's suggested I edit in GitHub but I'm old school. I prefer editing the file on my machine, after creating a backup, in case I fuck up. That method has saved my ass too many times to count.
So ... I need to add two things: a header banner across the top, and on the right side of the top (next to SUPPORT CENTER) I want to place two small buttons on top of each other. I need the code and where to place that code. For the buttons, just "http://support.*" is the URL as I can add the full URL later on. The two button images will go in /img/. I'll fill in URL. If you edit on GitHub, I'll just upload the file again should you break the site. Well, you won't want to manually edit & ftp the file; you're a coder. I'll backup the site after it's done. If you're feeling generous enough to give me a Yom Kippur gift of one or two lines of code, it'll be a Mitzvah for the new year 😘 You can post it here, PM me or ask for my email address. |
Evening bump for some views
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Just hire someone for the quick task, seems like you're asking for charity, too. |
Quote:
And they can go to GitHub and look anytime they want. Yep, I'm asking for charity but won't ignore payment requests that are reasonable. I used to code my own sites so know this isn't a one-hour job. Asking for five minutes of someone's time isn't asking for an entire program to get written. |
edited in: forget I said anything. Please.
. |
Quote:
Ah, should have come here first to see you changed your offer and post before hunting down the URL Live and learn. |
Quote:
I am not sure what you think we should be editing at github. The actual osticket source? So, instead of saying what I was saying and then finding out I was wrong I decided not to post. What url did you hunt down? The github osticket project? I found that in about 2 seconds of searching. I am just not sure what you want someone to do. Unless you have your own fork of the osticket project at github I am not sure what we could edit there. So, like I said, instead of confusing the issue more, I removed my post. . |
Quote:
<center> <a href=http://whatever_your_address_to_go_to_when_banner_is_clic ked> <img src=http://whatever_your_banner_image_address_is> </a> </center><br> That is old school html but it will work. It would probably be better to put it into a div or use a class available in the style sheet. Quote:
Making it stacked on top of each other alongside the "SUPPORT CENTER" would require a little styling I would think. /************************************************** ******************* index.php Helpdesk landing page. Please customize it to fit your needs. Peter Rotich <[email protected]> Copyright (c) 2006-2013 osTicket osTicket :: Support Ticket System | osTicket Released under the GNU General Public License WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY. See LICENSE.TXT for details. vim: expandtab sw=4 ts=4 sts=4: ************************************************** ********************/ require('client.inc.php'); require_once INCLUDE_DIR . 'class.page.php'; $section = 'home'; require(CLIENTINC_DIR.'header.inc.php'); ?> <!-- Put your banner line right here --> <center> <a href=http://whatever_your_address_to_go_to_when_banner_is_clic ked> <img src=http://whatever_your_banner_image_address_is> </a> </center><br> <!-- End of banner code --> <div id="landing_page"> <?php include CLIENTINC_DIR.'templates/sidebar.tmpl.php'; ?> <div class="main-content"> .................. // I made changes here in the if. First I blocked it (included {}) and then added button code. if($cfg && ($page = $cfg->getLandingPage())) { echo $page->getBodyWithImages(); else { ?> <div> <h1>Welcome to the Support Center</h1> <div> <a href=buttonurl><img src=buttonimageaddress></a><br> <a href=button2url><img src=buttoon2imageaddress></a> </div> </div> <?php } ?> That is going to be your basic structure. I would have to play with it some to make it right. I am far from a css expert so I have to mess with it to get where I want. But like I say, the basic structure is going to be something like that. . |
Quote:
|
And I am too tired at the moment to mess with it any more.
For anyone that wants to play with it it that was code from the index.php at the Osticket github. https://github.com/osTicket/osTicket https://github.com/osTicket/osTicket...elop/index.php There is also a demo page on Softaculous that is the same source I think, so you can see what it looks like: https://www.softaculous.com/demos/osTicket . |
if($cfg && ($page = $cfg->getLandingPage()))
{ echo $page->getBodyWithImages(); else { ?> <div> <div style="float:left;"> <h1>Welcome to the Support Center</h1> <div> <div style="float:left;"> <a href=buttonurl><img src=buttonimageaddress></a><br> <a href=button2url><img src=buttoon2imageaddress></a> </div> </div> <?php } ?> That is probably closer to what will work for the buttons next to the Support Center. . |
If you meant "SUPPORT CENTER" where it appears at the top instead of the Welcome to ...., that is the logo, an image. You would do the same sort of styling. Put the whole thing in a div and then put the logo image in a flush left div and then the 2 buttons in a flush left div to put them up against the image.
. |
<div style ="float:left;"><img src="" style="margin: 0 0 0 0;"></div>
https://www.w3schools.com/TAgs/tryit...img_vspace_css you can use something like margin: -20rem 0 0 0 to fine tune the image's position and alignment if needed. https://webdesign.tutsplus.com/tutor...rem--cms-23984 I found this helps with responsive design image sizing. |
Thank you. The URLs are https://github.com/osTicket/osTicket...debar.tmpl.php for the right side & https://github.com/osTicket/osTicket...header.inc.php for the left.
I couldn't bring it up easily as I don't have two functioning hands. It takes a while to surf around I read the posts carefully. I see the two sections of code and thank all for it. Adding div or other code is like asking me to add Chinese All that knowledge is gone and unrecognized. I'm on my phone but when I get on a real machine I'll backup the two files, then get to editing online. If I break it, I'll reupload. I'll keep trying until I begin throwing machines around. I've been to stackoverflow but they get uber-technical. Here I figured I'd get a simpler answer, as I did. |
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©2000-, AI Media Network Inc