![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
||||
Welcome to the GoFuckYourself.com - Adult Webmaster Forum forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. |
![]() ![]() |
|
Discuss what's fucking going on, and which programs are best and worst. One-time "program" announcements from "established" webmasters are allowed. |
|
Thread Tools |
![]() |
#1 | |
Confirmed User
Industry Role:
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 130
|
![]() Trying to implement a contact form into a site but having some issues.
Original programmer used tables, which I removed and changed a few things. When I submit the form without entering anything, the errors come up, and every time the focus is changed on a field, the error pops up again and I end up with multiple errors coming up down the page. Is there a way to change the JS below to fit with my layout and so it doesn't repeat itself ten million times? ![]() Code:
$(function() { // Validate the contact form $('#contactform').validate({ // Specify what the errors should look like // when they are dynamically added to the form errorElement: "label", wrapper: "td", errorPlacement: function(error, element) { error.insertBefore( element.parent().parent() ); error.wrap("<tr class='error'></tr>"); $("<td></td>").insertBefore(error); }, Quote:
The HTML I'm using Code:
<div class="wrap" align="center"> <form id="contactform" action="contact/processForm.php" method="post"> <input name="name" type="text" id="name" value="Your Name" onFocus="this.value=''; this.onfocus=null;" /> <br /> <input name="email" type="text" id="email" value="Your Email" onFocus="this.value=''; this.onfocus=null;" /> <br /> <textarea id="message" name="message" rows="5" cols="22" onFocus="this.value=''; this.onfocus=null;">Enter a brief message</textarea> <br /> <div align="right"><br /> <input type="submit" value="Submit Message" id="send" /></div> </form> <div id="response"></div> </div> Code:
<table> <tr> <td><label for="name">Name:</label></td> <td><input type="text" id="name" name="name" /></td> </tr> <tr> <td><label for="email">Email:</label></td> <td><input type="text" id="email" name="email" /></td> </tr> <tr> <td><label for="message">Message:</label></td> <td><textarea id="message" name="message" rows="5" cols="20"></textarea></td> </tr> <tr> <td></td> <td><input type="submit" value="Send!" id="send" /></td> </tr> </table> |
|
![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
Confirmed User
Industry Role:
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 305
|
Maybe rename the thread to "javascript" as java is completely unrelated.
|
![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
Confirmed User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,745
|
As uniqumkt said, this has as much to do with Java as automobile has with bile. The two words have some of the same letters, and are completely unrelated.
What you want to do is before the event loop add var i = 0; In the loop, add if ($i++} { continue; } That will print only one error message. I can't actually read your code on my phone, but the screenshot tells me what the code must be. |
![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
#4 | |
see you later, I'm gone
Industry Role:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 14,058
|
Quote:
He is inserting the error message just before the parent object thus everytime he gets an error it is inserting a new line above the parent. At least that is the way I am reading it. But as usual we are not seeing all the code in play here, so I can't say for sure. As far as where the error message goes and your repeating messages, Myself, I would create a div in the html called error_div or something like that and on each error I would rewrite the div inner HTML. That way the error message always shows in the same spot and doesn't screw the layout and only one error message shows at a time. .
__________________
All cookies cleared! |
|
![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
#5 | |
see you later, I'm gone
Industry Role:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 14,058
|
Quote:
That just isn't right. Unless I am missing something here. . ![]() .
__________________
All cookies cleared! |
|
![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
#6 | |
Confirmed User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,745
|
Quote:
The EVENT loop. He's doing it in an event handler. Initialize to zero before outside the handler. BTW it's good to know the event loop IS a loop, one that's run a thousand times per second. Hook a garbage event or create a nested infinite loop and you'll get a nice crash - do not pass Go and do not collect an error message.
__________________
For historical display only. This information is not current: support@bettercgi.com ICQ 7208627 Strongbox - The next generation in site security Throttlebox - The next generation in bandwidth control Clonebox - Backup and disaster recovery on steroids |
|
![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
#7 | |
see you later, I'm gone
Industry Role:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 14,058
|
Quote:
Most of my javascript is fairly simple stuff. Like I said, I didn't think I had the whole picture from just the code he showed. I knew the fucking messages were coming from somewhere ;p Thanx ..
__________________
All cookies cleared! |
|
![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
Confirmed User
Industry Role:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: icq#: 639544261
Posts: 1,965
|
jQuery would be even better.
__________________
I'm out. |
![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |